Wednesday at the Art Institute of Chicago

by Alicia

Art museums are a place of solace for me.  I find each visit humbling and lovely.  I feel a sense of balance and definition.  I tend to visit with the excitement of seeing an old friend.  As time may pass the beloved pieces of art you loved at 10 makes you feel a completely new and fascination as you see it again years and years later.

It has been exceptionally important to take Keaton to admire art.  I remember our visit to the St Louis Art Museum and how he was in awe of the giant Monet.  We arrived at the Art Institute of Chicago with the anticipation of seeing Ferris, Sloan and Cameron.  In all seriousness, the movie did open our eyes to the artwork the Art Institute houses.  It was almost like a scavenger hunt searching for Chagall’s windows and the Seurat Cameron stares so deeply into as it, in turn, stares deeply back into him.

Keaton had artwork chosen for display two years before for his interpretation of ‘American Gothic.’  It made me proud to be able to stand with him in front of the original.  That painting is so iconic it is almost telling you without any words at all just how to admire it.  I love how Keaton asked to see a very specific Picasso called ‘The Old Musician.”  I love that he knows what this is and requested to seek it out.

The special exhibit was The New Modern, featuring works by Warhol and Lichtenstein.  I like the risks and the style is most reflective on how I feel about visual expression.  I like the questions and oddness.  I like the smiles others have when viewing the pieces.

I loved how my husband was engaged in discussion about the pieces on each floor of the museum.  The way he shared his thoughts with Keaton and I.  It was a memorable visit for winter vacation.  I had a very happy day.